Amy’s Mattar Paneer: $4.50

amys_indian.jpg

Anybody who works with me knows about my *small* obsession with Indian food. It’s a fairly recent thing for me; getting older apparently makes spicy food yummier.  Or maybe it’s living in a big city, with an abundance of international restaurants that cater to my every food whim?

The one thing that is for certain is that Amy’s prepared meals are TASTY. And the Indian variety are a lunchtime staple for me. The Mattar Paneer meal, which consists of savory rice, peas, paneer (which is like cottage cheese, with a consistency of firm tofu), and chick peas in a delicious tomato gravy, is my favorite. Spiced with cardamom, cloves, cinnamon and mace, it’s the perfect balance of savory and delicate.

What I especially like is the heartiness of it. I’m not a vegetarian, but I try not to eat meat daily, and this meal makes me full despite being vegetarian. The best part is that all ingredients are organic. I know that “certified organic” is a loose term by FDA standards (read the Ominvore’s Dilemma if you want to know why), but I like the idealism of it all.

3 responses to “Amy’s Mattar Paneer: $4.50

  1. Your palate has been adventuresome ever since you were a little girl! Remember the “Mad Batter”? Maybe it was the baby food grinder with food for you from whatever we ate!

  2. How funny – I was just talking about that with friends. We were discussing the best meals we had ever eaten, and I remembered that chilled tomato-orange soup we had at the Mad Batter. You guys always made sure we tried lots of different kinds of food!

  3. Sounds really good. I love Indian food, too,but sometimes I have to watch out for that super spicy stuff–especially at lunchtime. I hate it when certain “issues” come up when I’m trying to teach my afternoon math class, haha.

Leave a Reply

